Sharing the joy of children’s books

Darkmouth 3: Chaos Descends

0

Welcome to the very first Kids Book Crew review on Gobblefunked! Kids Book Crew is a new initiative that brings the views of professional booksellers directly to you, so you don’t just have to take our word for it anymore! Our first Kids Book Crew reviewer is Lisa Corr who has been working as a bookseller for over 10 years. Here, she reviews the latest book in the Darkmouth series by Irish author Shane Hegarty. 

Darkmouth: Chaos DecendsFinn and Emmie are back in the third instalment of Darkmouth, and the stakes are even higher. A much larger cast of really interesting characters makes this a gripping read, as the reader strains to learn more about the world of Darkmouth.

Finn is about to finally become Complete, to take his place as a real Legend Hunter in the town he has always lived in. The town is being flooded with Half Hunters, (those with the gifts to fight but no Legends to battle) who have come to see his ceremony. But there is something stirring in the air, something that is making the Half Hunters disappear. It’s up to Finn and Emmie to figure out that sometimes ‘dead’ doesn’t always mean dead.

Some favourite characters make a show in the third book, including the fantastic Cornelius and Hiss (a dog-like Legend with a snake for a tail) and Broonie (a somewhat gross Hogboon).

I highly recommend the whole series, as the stories are told with a great sense of humour and will appeal to fans of Derek Landy and Rick Riordan.

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Kids Book Crew verdict

80%
80
4 stars

If you like this book you might also like: Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden.

Will appeal to readers who enjoy: mortal peril, end of the world scenarios, friendship stories, funny stories and monsters to beat the band.

  • 8
  • User Ratings (1 Votes)
    9.1
Share.

About the author

Lisa Corr

Lisa Corr has been a children's bookseller for 10 years. She has a Master's in Children's Literature, coupled with a passion for kids' books that just won't quit. Her favourite book for teens is 'The Giver' by Lois Lowry and her favourite book for middle graders (ages 8 to 12) is 'Goodnight Mister Tom' by Michelle Magorian.

No Comments

Leave A Reply